{Book Review} The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

» 7 July, 2015 » 4 Star Review, 4 Stars » 2 comments

{Book Review} The Art of Lainey by Paula StokesThe Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes
(Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads)Published by Harper Collins on May 20th 2014
Genres: Dating & Sex, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
AmazonBarnes and Noble four-stars
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, and Susane Colasanti, The Art of Lainey tells the story of how, with the help of The Art of War, Lainey plots the perfect plan to get her boyfriend back. But is getting him back really what she wants?Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warnings, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.And that's when Lainey and Bianca stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, the girls are sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey's arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous.After a few

For soccer star Lainey Mitchell, life is pretty great: she has the perfect boyfriend, Jason, and she is in for the summer of her life. Until Jason breaks up with her—in her family’s coffee shop, Denali, all the customers watching as her world comes crumbling down. Lainey will do anything to get him back, so she and her best friend, Bianca, concoct the perfect plan using advice from a dead Chinese Warlord—The Art of War by Sun Tzu. With the help of Micah, the mohawked guy in the kitchen at Denali, her plan might work.

I didn’t know this book existed before going to the Southeast Summer Book Bash a few weeks ago. Paula Stokes was a relatively new author to me, and when she started talking about The Art of Lainey she had my undivided attention. I’m a sucker for any Contemporary Young Adult Romance, and add a dash of unrequited love, and I’m all in. Plus, she made The Art of War sound interesting, which is a miracle in and of itself.

To say I sped through this book would be an understatement. I had an extremely difficult time putting it down at all. Lainey’s character was kind of oblivious at the beginning of the novel, which explained why she dated someone like Jason. That’s one of the things that makes the story so interesting: Lainey’s complete disinterest in the things going on around her. All she cared about were soccer and how she looked to everyone else. The way Jason dumped her seriously bruised her ego, and then the story really got interesting.

Throughout the entire novel Lainey and Bianca’s relationship never waivered, though it did change, but for the better. Bianca was the best friend that everyone wishes he or she had. She dealt with all of Lainey’s drama and answered her late night phone calls that usually would have been to Jason.

Jason was the stereotypical jock, or at least how they’re presented in books like these: gorgeous and talented, but cocky and daft. Why would someone fight so hard to get someone like him back? Even though there were moments when I didn’t agree with what Lainey was doing, I also kind of understood why she was doing it. It made not only her journey exciting but understandable. I had an obvious favorite—Micah—but he didn’t have the same charm as Jason, surprisingly. Micah didn’t fit perfectly into the mold that some people believe fits the male leads in novels. He and Lainey didn’t get along most of the time: he took her to places that she wouldn’t dream of visiting—as per their arrangement—he was a gentlemen only sometimes, and he didn’t play into her drama. Given that he did play a key role in why her world was so topsy turvey, he only wanted what was best for her and accepted that he might not have been it. Seeing whether or not they ended up together added to the war that Lainey raged. Just like Lainey, I found the moments with Micah were my favorite, they were so unique.

I strongly suggest this book to anyone who will listen. You’ll swoon, daydream, and be wanting to read The Art of War yourself (hard to imagine, right?—but I couldn’t believe I haven’t read it yet). For dumpees or the dumper, The Art of Lainey is the perfect pick-me-up and explanation of why sometimes it’s just too difficult to let go.

Moriah (1)

About Paula Stokes

Paula Stokes 2 web res

Paula Stokes writes stories about flawed characters with good hearts. She’s the author of several novels, most recently Vicarious and Girl Against the Universe. Her writing has been translated into eleven foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands She also loves interacting with readers.

2 Responses to “{Book Review} The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes”

  1. Eli @ The Silver Words

    Yay! I’m glad you liked this one so much. The Art of Lainey was the first book I read of Paula’s as well, and it only got better from there. If you haven’t picked it up already, I would highly recommend Girl Against the Universe. I think it’s best of Paula’s books (a little more serious than this one, but still cute). Great review!

    #commenting365

    • Moriah

      I haven’t read GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE yet! I love Paula’s writing and will definitely add it to my list. I really want to read VICARIOUS! Thanks, Eli! :)