{Book Review} Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

» 21 February, 2015 » Uncategorized » 0 comments

{Book Review}  Lies I Told by Michelle ZinkLies I Told by Michelle Zink
Published by Harper Collins on April 7th 2015
Genres: Adoption, Family, Law & Crime, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Goodreads
Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. But it's all a lie.Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines' biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught . . . including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.Perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Robin Benway, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

I’m not sure if this book is part of a series or a stand–alone, but either way, it definitely ended with me having questions and wanting to know more!  I loved how the prologue left me baffled and that Michelle Zink only gave pieces of a puzzle as the story progressed, leaving me grasping (or in other words, taking the book everywhere I went) to locate the missing pieces. And once I had learned all of the secrets to this extraordinary family, I just had to know how the story would end.

The book begins by introducing the main character, Grace Fontaine, as she’s recalling all of the events that led up to the beginning of her story. This gave me a chance to connect with Grace right from the start. Grace is seventeen years old and has everything she could ever wish for. She was adopted into a wonderful family that rescued her from the brutality of so many foster homes. The unspoken connection with her brother in this book is also something every sibling strives for.

Secretly she is a part of a family of cons. They travel from city to city stealing from the wealthiest of families. Their next mission is their biggest yet, which is to steal twenty million dollars in gold from one of the richest families in Playa Hermosa, California. Grace’s job is to go in, pretend to get close to the son, steal their money, and move on to another city, another job. But the unexpected happens. Grace breaks the number one rule; don’t get attached to your mark while on a mission. As her attractiveness to Logan and the other teenagers from Playa Hermosa grows, Grace begins to question her secret lifestyle. Should she try to escape or stay bound to the people who saved her from her horrible childhood?

Lies I told will appeal to both tweens and teens alike because there is a wonderful balance between romance and suspense. The romantic side of this story was sweet and the action gave me a thrill that came from the escapades of being a secret spy. The spy factor helped create a sense of mystery which always draws me deeper into a book. However, I have to admit that some parts were a bit too slow and repetitive for my taste, but overall it took me on a very enjoyable adventure.

Madeline Name

Leave a Reply