{Blog Tour |Review| Giveaway} THE TRUTH ABOUT US by Janet Gurtler

» 20 April, 2015 » 3.5 Star Review » 0 comments

{Blog Tour |Review| Giveaway}  THE TRUTH ABOUT US by Janet Gurtler

{Blog Tour |Review| Giveaway}  THE TRUTH ABOUT US by Janet GurtlerThe Truth About Us on April 2015
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
three-half-stars
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

There are always those love stories where the characters are faced with forbidden love.  For one reason or the other, they are simply not good for one another.  Such is the case for Jess and Flynn.  Jess lives in area that is considered the happening area.  The area where if you live there, then your life is perfect.  Flynn is from the side of town, which is considered to be one that brings hard times and heartache.  Jess and Flynn first meet in an unusual situation.  One that I feel, Jess places too much trust in a car with 2 guys, nonetheless it opens the door for a soon to be friendship between Jess and Flynn.  Just when you think everyone has the perfect life.  You quickly learn otherwise.  Jess has a secret and Flynn has troubles.  However, will those secrets and troubles be the brick wall that keeps them apart.

This novel is a quick read.  One that could be finished on a rainy day with a steady flow of coffee.  Which was the case for me.  The storyline is realistic.  The characters are realistic.  It’s nice to know that all the events are not predictable although the overall theme is one that has been used before.  I’m glad that the cover doesn’t truly reveal what the characters look like.  I was able to do my own visualization while reading based on the great descriptions of the characters provided by the author.  Enjoy Jess and Flynn’s story.  It’s not your everyday story of star crossed lovers.

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY

 
AboutAuthor
 

A Rita Award Finalist and Crystal Kite Award Finalist, Janet Gurtler’s young adult books have been chosen for the JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION and as BEST BOOKS FOR TEENS from the Canadian Children’s Book Center. Janet lives in Okotoks Alberta, Canada with her husband, son, and a chubby black Chihuahua named Bruce.

Giveaway Banner(12)
Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
 

2 Small Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler

Large Sock Monkey by Janet Gurtler

Signed Copy of Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments are closed.